In order to control which projects are accessible to which user accounts in Project
Reporter, you can use the Groups function. The following rules apply to groups:
These rules mean that if you do not create any groups, all users will be able to
view all reports (although you can still restrict which information particular
users can see in a given report). If you do create groups, you may find these
Each group can contain any number of projects and users.
Each project or user can belong to any number of groups.
If a project belongs to one or more groups, it will only be visible to users who
belong to one or more of the same groups as the project.
If a project does not belong to any groups, it will be visible only to users who
do not belong to any groups.
If a user belongs to one or more groups, they will only be able to see projects
if the projects belong to one or more of the same groups as the user.
If a user does not belong to any groups, they will be able to see all of the
projects that are loaded.
If you create a group for a given project, make sure that you include the
appropriate users in the same group, so that they will be able to see the
If you wish to make a new project available to an existing group of users, make
sure to place it in that group; otherwise they will not be able to see it.
You should normally not include administrative user accounts in any groups, so
that they will have convenient access to all projects on the Home page (of
course, administrators can access all projects on the Projects page in the
administration interface, regardless of what is displayed on the Home page).
Note: Although projects are grouped on the
page according to the data sources they belong to, this grouping is independent
of the Groups feature. You can add any project to any group, regardless of which
data source it comes from.